The Sixth British Screenwriters' Awards Dates TBC


It’s about time someone put the originators and architects of great storytelling front and centre.

And the London Screenwriters' Festival rose to that challenge, launching the annual British Screenwriters’ Awards in 2013.

Now in its sixth year, the awards continue to celebrate the very best in screenwriting in UK TV and film, as well as platforming new talent and honouring extraordinary people and contributions to our craft.

Hollywood legend Joel Schumacher presents Philomena Lee with the best feature screenplay award for 'Philomena' in 2014.

The evening begins with a standup act, followed by the awards, then we gather for photos on the red carpet, enjoy celebratory drinks, and network with our peers.

Past nominees and Winners

Nominations for the sixth British Screenwriters' Awards will be announced in January 2020.

Nominations and Winners in 2018
Nominations and Winners in 2017
Nominations and Winners in 2016
Nominations and Winners in 2015
Nominations and Winners in 2014
Nominations and Winners in 2013

Comedienne, actress and writer Rhona Cameron presented the awards in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing
  • Loving Vincent by Dorota Kobiela / Hugh Welchman / Jacek Dehnel
  • Beast by Michael Pearce
  • The Ritual by Joe Barton (Based on the novel by Adam Nevill)
    Dark River by Clio Barnard (Based in part on the novel by Rose Tremain)
  • God's Own Country by Francis Lee

NEWS... British Screenwriters' Awards Recognise Writer and Filmmaker Simon Fitzmaurice in New Award

The Fucking Awesome Award at the British Screenwriters' Awards at the London Screenwriters' Festival was launched in 2016 to recognize talent, achievement, or personal contribution to our creative community that might fall outside a traditional 'lifetime achievement award'. The award is reserved for someone who did something, well fucking awesome! The first recipient was screenwriter and director Simon Fitzmaurice.


Simon Fitzmaurice collects his award at the 2016 British Screenwriters' Awards.

Best British Feature Film Writing
  • Darkest Hour by Anthony McCarten
  • The Death of Stalin by The Writing Team
  • Lady Macbeth by Alice Birch (Based on Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk by Nikolai Leskov)
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Martin McDonagh
  • I Am Not A Witch by Rungano Nyoni

Best British Children's Television
  • Creeped Out by Bede Blake / Robert Butler / Denis McGrath
  • So Awkward by The Writing Team
  • Like Me by Adam Tyler / Bob Ayres / Toby Lloyd
  • Class Dismissed by The Writing Team
  • Go Jetters by The Writing Team

Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing
  • The End of The Fucking World by Charlie Covell (Based on the Comic book by Charles S. Forsman)
  • Murdered for Being Different by Nick Leather
  • Save Me by Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan / Marlon Smith / Lennie James

Best British TV Drama Writing
  • Liar by Harry Williams / Jack Williams
  • Our Girl by Tony Grounds / Loren Mclaughlan / Amy Roberts
  • The State by Peter Kosminsky
  • Broken by Jimmy McGovern / Shaun Duggan / Colette Kane / Nick Leather
  • Patrick Melrose by Edward St. Aubyn / David Nicholls

Best Crime Writing on Television
  • Marcella by Hans Rosenfeldt
  • McMafia by The Writing Team
  • Kiri by Jack Thorne / Rachel De-Lahay
  • Top of the Lake by Jane Campion / Gerard Lee
  • Collateral by David Hare

Best Comedy Writing on Television
  • Famalam by Tom Marshall / Akemnji Ndifornyen
  • Timewasters by Daniel Lawrence Taylor / Barunka O'Shaughnessy
  • Derry Girls by Lisa McGee
  • Sick Note by Nat Saunders / James Serafinowicz
  • Motherland by The Writing Team

The Fucking Awesome Fitzmaurice Award
  • Justine Heart and Charlotte Macleod accepted the award for Lucy Scher

More about the Fitzmaurice Award HERE.

Impact50 Best Film Awards
  • ‘Equal', written by Ben Lacey, produced by Isos
  • ‘Leargaidh', written by Matt George Lovett, produced by Meshes Films LLP
  • ‘White Liar', written by Ben Mole, Produced by Core Films
  • ‘In Vino Veritas', written by Kim Wheeler, Produced by Flickering Wick
  • 'Music to Die For', written by Dee Chilton, produced by Natasha Marburger Productions

Maximum Impact50 Best Film Awards
  • ‘Francis of Fell End Farm', written by Milethia Thomas, produced by LTBL Productions
  • ‘T-Minus' written by Carolyn Goodyear, produced by Adrian G. De la Pena
  • ‘The Travelers' written by Matt Giannini, produced by Silverbird Productions Ltd

Note: Please fill out the fields marked with an asterisk.

The British Screenwriters' Awards 2018

The Fifth British Screenwriters’ Awards was a spectacular and celebratory evening hosted Aiden Goatley. The awards were individually presented by special guests and the ceremony was hosted by the fabulous and Betty Denville. The voice-overs for the awards videos were performed by Kat Rose Martin adding a delicious regional accent to the proceedings.

Get your photos taken on the red carpet.

Want to attend or Support the Awards?

We are currently seeking our Awards Sponsor for 2018. If you would like to support this important cultural celebration, mingle with the stars, and get a VIP experience for you and your closest or team, drop us a line at