The British Screenwriters' Awards 2018

The Fifth British Screenwriters’ Awards was a spectacular and celebratory evening hosted Aiden Goatley. The awards were individually presented by special guests and the ceremony was hosted by the fabulous and Betty Denville. The voice overs for the awards videos were performed by Kat Rose Martin adding a delicious regional accent to the proceedings.

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing
  • Loving Vincent by Dorota Kobiela / Hugh Welchman / Jacek Dehnel
  • Beast by Michael Pearce
  • The Ritual by Joe Barton (Based on the novel by Adam Nevill)
    Dark River by Clio Barnard (Based in part on the novel by Rose Tremain)
  • God's Own Country by Francis Lee

Best British Feature Film Writing
  • Darkest Hour by Anthony McCarten
  • The Death of Stalin by The Writing Team
  • Lady Macbeth by Alice Birch (Based on Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk by Nikolai Leskov)
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Martin McDonagh
  • I Am Not A Witch by Rungano Nyoni

Best British Children's Television
  • Creeped Out by Bede Blake / Robert Butler / Denis McGrath
  • So Awkward by The Writing Team
  • Like Me by Adam Tyler / Bob Ayres / Toby Lloyd
  • Class Dismissed by The Writing Team
  • Go Jetters by The Writing Team

Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing
  • The End of The Fucking World by Charlie Covell (Based on the Comic book by Charles S. Forsman)
  • Murdered for Being Different by Nick Leather
  • Save Me by Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan / Marlon Smith / Lennie James

Best British TV Drama Writing
  • Liar by Harry Williams / Jack Williams
  • Our Girl by Tony Grounds / Loren Mclaughlan / Amy Roberts
  • The State by Peter Kosminsky
  • Broken by Jimmy McGovern / Shaun Duggan / Colette Kane / Nick Leather
  • Patrick Melrose by Edward St. Aubyn / David Nicholls

Best Crime Writing on Television
  • Marcella by Hans Rosenfeldt
  • McMafia by The Writing Team
  • Kiri by Jack Thorne / Rachel De-Lahay
  • Top of the Lake by Jane Campion / Gerard Lee
  • Collateral by David Hare

Best Comedy Writing on Television
  • Famalam by Tom Marshall / Akemnji Ndifornyen
  • Timewasters by Daniel Lawrence Taylor / Barunka O'Shaughnessy
  • Derry Girls by Lisa McGee
  • Sick Note by Nat Saunders / James Serafinowicz
  • Motherland by The Writing Team

The Fucking Awesome Fitzmaurice Award
  • Justine Heart and Charlotte Macleod accepted the award for Lucy Scher

More about the Fitzmaurice Award HERE.

Impact50 Best Film Awards
  • ‘Equal', written by Ben Lacey, produced by Isos
  • ‘Leargaidh', written by Matt George Lovett, produced by Meshes Films LLP
  • ‘White Liar', written by Ben Mole, Produced by Core Films
  • ‘In Vino Veritas', written by Kim Wheeler, Produced by Flickering Wick
  • 'Music to Die For', written by Dee Chilton, produced by Natasha Marburger Productions

Maximum Impact50 Best Film Awards
  • ‘Francis of Fell End Farm', written by Milethia Thomas, produced by LTBL Productions
  • ‘T-Minus' written by Carolyn Goodyear, produced by Adrian G. De la Pena
  • ‘The Travelers' written by Matt Giannini, produced by Silverbird Productions Ltd